In Five Years - Rebecca Serle

In Five Years

By Rebecca Serle

  • Release Date: 2020-03-10
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4
4
From 2,487 Ratings

Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A Good Morning America, FabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club Pick

In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.” —Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers.

She is nothing like her lifelong best friend—the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career and accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight—but it is one hour she cannot shake. In Five Years is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting.

Reviews

  • Stunningly Disappointing

    1
    By BrandyMorgan8743
    The ending is awful. There's no answers it just fizzles out. The book is not that interesting to begin with but it has a hook and you want to see how it resolves. It kinda does but not all the way Then at the end there are tons of questions you can ask your book group to discuss. I would just say we picked a dud let's go see a movie. I seldom am disappointed this bad by books. I actually read three other books in the middle of this one but went ahead and finished it to get the main question answered, which it is but it's not the one you were hoping for, and there s no good explanation. Im trying to explain this without spoilers. I'm sorry to leave a bad review but I kinda felt I should. It's that weak and boring.
  • Read in a day

    5
    By lane0789
    Seriously could not but this book down. Such a beautiful piece!
  • A light, ok read

    3
    By lulu chopin
    It was alright! Good if you’re looking for a quick read with a decent story. Took a little bit of a dark turn so be wary if you’re looking for just a breezy romance.
  • Loved it! Quick read

    4
    By Kaaaaaaaaaaaaaaooo
    Slow in some parts - I felt as if a lot of parts were easy to skim through, and I didn’t need some of the details included. Otherwise I really enjoyed the read, and would definitely recommend. Sad, but in a wholesome and realistic manner.
  • I finished it in a day.

    5
    By margauxwill
    Seriously, this book is incredible. I highly recommend.
  • A beautiful story of friendship

    5
    By karlabg
    I’m not going to say this is a literary masterpiece, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. A beautiful story about life, love and loss - and truly, a story about real friendship.
  • Really enjoyed reading.

    4
    By SHAY789*
    The book was really good and pulled on your heartstrings towards the end. The beginning was a little slow, but good nonetheless. The end seemed the tiniest bit rushed; would have liked a little more detail and insight. Although I still thoroughly enjoyed the book I would still recommend.
  • Depressing!

    1
    By KittyKat1988!
    Starts out a little slow, gets good & then bam last 1/3 is sooooo depressing. Not what I was expecting at all.
  • Great Characters

    5
    By DaMax4
    What a wonderful story. I sat and read this in one sitting. The characters instantly came alive to me and I was compelled to know how the story would turn out. What a great escape story that weaves in a lesson we all need to learn.
  • Fluff read with a hard turn into sad town.

    2
    By JoChan
    The writing is solid enough, although it is the kind of book that relies heavily on name dropping brands and restaurants instead of properly describe. It does a lot of tell, much less show. All the characters (and I do mean all of them) are, of course, fabulously successful in their chosen fields. It takes a long time to get going and then when it does it is a long slide into sad. The main character is likable enough that I got stuck in it. I don’t really recommend it though.